Get a Strong DUI Attorney On Your Side
DUI Is Complex
A DUI charge has complex implications for people charged with the crime. It is important for individuals to have an experienced attorney knowledgeable in the nuances of the law and who has the willingness to aggressively defend against an unjust outcome. The choice of lawyer can make a difference in the outcome of a drunk driving charge.
Under Vermont DUI laws (found at Title 23, Sections 1201-1216), the legal blood alcohol limit (blood alcohol concentration, or BAC) is .08. However, you can still be charged with DUI even if your BAC was below this limit if your driving ability was nevertheless impaired by any combination of alcohol and drugs.
Other complexities of Vermont's DUI laws include:
- An implied consent law regarding a law enforcement officer's request for a breath or blood sample. If you refuse, you will lose your driver's license for six months on a first offense. On a second offense, you will lose your license for 18 months and you could be charged with a criminal refusal.
- A first-time offense carries a potential penalty of up to two years in jail and/or a fine of up to $750. However, even if you win your criminal DUI case, you may nevertheless lose your license for 90 days under Vermont's implied consent law, if a first offense, or for 18 months if a second offense.
- It is a felony under Vermont law if you are convicted of a third DUI. You will lose your license for life if you are convicted of a third DUI. The law allows reinstatement of a driver's license under very narrow circumstances and only after three years of license suspension and absolute sobriety.
- Vermont has begun to allow drivers convicted of DUI and under license suspension to drive upon meeting certain suspension criteria and paying for an "interlock" device that prevents a car from starting if the device detects alcohol in the driver.
Contact Kirkpatrick & Goldsborough For Skilled DUI Defense
It is not practical to list all the nuances of Vermont's DUI law in one website. Every DUI case has its own set of facts and legal issues. The practice of DUI law requires precise analysis, legal and practical advice, advocacy, and cost consciousness. Call 802-448-2518 or send an email to speak with Burlington DUI attorney Richard Goldsborough if you are facing a DUI charge. We are prepared to advocate on your behalf for a positive outcome.
“We understand the complexities of the law and the anxiety it can generate for many people. We are here to explain the legal process and provide skilled advocacy to help our clients achieve their goals.”